Actor | Observer Information

The history of Actor | Observer is a narrative of evolution within the realm of progressive hardcore, characterized by their intricate compositions, thought-provoking lyrics, and dynamic performances. Hailing from Boston, Massachusetts, the band has carved a unique space in the hardcore scene, captivating audiences with their genre-blurring sound and emotionally charged storytelling. From their formation to their evolution as a prominent force in progressive hardcore, the timeline of Actor | Observer reflects their commitment to pushing sonic boundaries and delivering messages that resonate deeply.


  • 2010: Actor | Observer is formed in Boston, Massachusetts, by Greg Marquis (vocals), Taylor Allen (guitar), Jason Coviello (bass), and Josh Lentz (drums). The band’s name reflects their interest in exploring the duality of performance and observation within their music.
  • 2012: The band releases their debut EP, “Pareidolia,” showcasing their blend of progressive and post-hardcore influences. The EP’s intricate compositions and socially conscious lyrics hint at the band’s artistic direction.
  • 2015: Actor | Observer releases their first full-length album, “The Longer Now,” solidifying their presence in the progressive hardcore scene. The album’s dynamic shifts between aggression and introspection showcase their ability to balance emotions within their music.
  • 2017: The band releases their sophomore album, “Cognitive Dissonance,” further exploring their sound and pushing the boundaries of their genre. The album’s themes of mental health, self-discovery, and social commentary resonate with listeners seeking depth in their music.
  • 2020: Actor | Observer releases the EP “I Wanna Be Your God,” featuring a cover of the iconic song by Iggy Pop. The EP pays homage to their punk and rock influences while maintaining their signature progressive hardcore sound.
  • 2021: The band continues to engage with their fanbase through social media and online platforms, hinting at potential new music and future projects.


  1. “Pareidolia” (2012) – EP
  2. “The Longer Now” (2015) – Album
  3. “Cognitive Dissonance” (2017) – Album
  4. “I Wanna Be Your God” (2020) – EP


  • Greg Marquis: Vocals
  • Taylor Allen: Guitar
  • Jason Coviello: Bass
  • Josh Lentz: Drums

Official Social Media Accounts:

Actor | Observer‘s journey is a testament to the power of blending genres and delivering messages that resonate with listeners. Their ability to create intricate compositions that evoke emotions and provoke thought highlights their dedication to musical craftsmanship. As they continue to engage with their audience and explore new sonic territories, Actor | Observer remains a symbol of artistic evolution and the transformative impact of music within the progressive hardcore scene.


Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.