Aesop Rock Information

Aesop Rock, the renowned American rapper and lyricist, has left an indelible mark on the hip-hop landscape with his intricate wordplay, thought-provoking themes, and distinctive style. Born Ian Matthias Bavitz on June 5, 1976, in Northport, New York, his journey into the world of hip-hop began in the 1990s, and he has since become a revered figure in the underground rap scene.

Early Years and Introduction to Hip-Hop (1990s): Aesop Rock’s fascination with hip-hop was sparked during his formative years. Influenced by the burgeoning underground rap scene, he embarked on his own journey as an MC and lyricist. In the late 1990s, he moved to New York City’s vibrant borough of Brooklyn, where he would immerse himself in the city’s hip-hop culture and start crafting his unique style.

Breakthrough and Signature Sound (2000 – 2007): Aesop Rock’s breakthrough came with the release of his debut album, “Float,” in 2000. The album showcased his intricate and densely packed lyrics, a hallmark of his style. Tracks like “Commencement at the Obedience Academy” and “Big Bang” received critical acclaim for their abstract and intellectual approach to rap.

In 2001, Aesop Rock released the album “Labor Days,” which solidified his reputation as an underground rap luminary. The album’s introspective and socially conscious lyrics, along with his distinctive flow, resonated with a growing fan base. Tracks such as “Daylight” and “9-5ers Anthem” became anthems for fans of alternative hip-hop.

Aesop Rock continued to push the boundaries of his artistry with the release of “Bazooka Tooth” in 2003. The album featured a darker and more experimental sound, further establishing him as an artist unafraid to challenge conventional rap norms.

Critically Acclaimed Albums and Collaborations (2007 – Present): In 2007, Aesop Rock released “None Shall Pass,” an album that showcased his storytelling prowess and deft wordplay. The title track, “None Shall Pass,” became an instant hit and remains one of his most recognized songs.

Over the years, Aesop Rock has collaborated with a diverse range of artists, including Kimya Dawson in the duo The Uncluded and underground rap legend Rob Sonic as part of the group Hail Mary Mallon.

In 2016, Aesop Rock released “The Impossible Kid,” a deeply personal album that explored his own life experiences, including his childhood and personal struggles. The album was hailed as one of his best works and featured tracks like “Rings” and “Dorks” that showcased his lyrical prowess.


Aesop Rock’s discography is a testament to his evolution as an artist and his impact on the underground hip-hop scene. Some of his notable albums include:

  1. Float” (2000)
    • Notable Tracks: “Commencement at the Obedience Academy,” “Big Bang”
  2. Labor Days” (2001)
    • Notable Tracks: “Daylight,” “9-5ers Anthem”
  3. Bazooka Tooth” (2003)
    • Notable Tracks: “No Jumper Cables,” “Babies with Guns”
  4. None Shall Pass” (2007)
    • Notable Tracks: “None Shall Pass,” “Coffee”
  5. The Impossible Kid” (2016)
    • Notable Tracks: “Rings,” “Dorks”
  6. Spirit World Field Guide” (2020)
    • Notable Tracks: “The Gates,” “Sleeper Car”

Official Social Media Accounts

Stay connected with Aesop Rock and explore his lyrical mastery and genre-defying music through his official social media accounts:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.