Alcest Information

Alcest is a renowned French music project founded by Neige (born Stéphane Paut) in the early 2000s. The band’s unique blend of black metal and shoegaze elements has earned them international acclaim and a dedicated fanbase. The history and timeline of Alcest is a fascinating journey through the evolution of their sound and artistic vision.

2000-2009: Formative Years and Debut Album Alcest was formed in 2000 in Bagnols-sur-Cèze, France. The project’s initial vision was deeply rooted in the harsh and atmospheric realms of black metal, inspired by the likes of Burzum and Darkthrone. In 2001, Neige released a demo titled “Tristesse Hivernale,” which marked the beginning of Alcest’s musical journey.

The project’s debut album, “Souvenirs d’un autre monde,” was released in 2007. This album marked a significant departure from traditional black metal, incorporating dreamy, ethereal elements and melodies that would become a trademark of their sound. It was a critical success and laid the foundation for Alcest’s unique sonic identity.

2010-2014: Expanding Horizons Alcest continued to evolve with their second album, “Écailles de Lune” (2010), and “Les Voyages de l’Âme” (2012), further distancing themselves from their black metal roots and embracing a more expansive, shoegaze-oriented sound. These albums showcased Neige’s lyrical themes of nature, dreams, and nostalgia.

2016-2020: Kodama and Spiritual Themes In 2016, Alcest released “Kodama,” which drew inspiration from Japanese folklore and the forest spirits known as kodama. This album represented a return to a heavier sound reminiscent of their early works while retaining their signature dreamy atmospheres. It was well-received and solidified Alcest’s status as pioneers of the genre.

2020-Present: Continued Exploration Alcest’s journey continued with the release of “Spiritual Instinct” in 2019 and an EP titled “Wings” in 2021. These works saw Alcest pushing the boundaries of their sound even further, exploring themes of inner turmoil and spirituality.


  1. Souvenirs d’un autre monde (2007)
  2. Écailles de Lune (2010)
  3. Les Voyages de l’Âme (2012)
  4. Shelter (2014)
  5. Kodama (2016)
  6. Spiritual Instinct (2019)
  7. Wings (2021)

Current Members:

  • Neige (Stéphane Paut) – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Drums (studio)
  • Winterhalter (Jean Deflandre) – Drums

Official Social Media Accounts:

Alcest’s journey has been one of artistic evolution and a commitment to pushing the boundaries of their genre. From their black metal origins to their dreamy, shoegaze-infused sound, they have consistently captivated audiences with their ethereal music and introspective lyrics. With a dedicated fanbase and a rich discography, Alcest continues to be a leading force in the world of atmospheric metal. Be sure to follow them on their official social media accounts and explore their enchanting music on Spotify and YouTube.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.