Alexander O’Neal Information

Alexander O’Neal is an American R&B and soul artist who has left an indelible mark on the music industry with his smooth vocals and timeless hits. Born on November 15, 1953, in Natchez, Mississippi, O’Neal has had a storied career that spans several decades, during which he has become known for his soulful ballads and electrifying stage presence.


  • 1953: Alexander O’Neal was born in Natchez, Mississippi, and grew up immersed in the rich musical traditions of the American South. His early exposure to gospel music laid the foundation for his future career.
  • 1971: O’Neal moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota, which would become a pivotal location for his music career. It was in Minneapolis that he would eventually connect with the legendary record producer Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis.
  • 1975: O’Neal joined a local R&B band called The Mystics and began performing in Minneapolis venues. This marked the beginning of his professional music career.
  • 1985: O’Neal released his self-titled debut album, “Alexander O’Neal,” which included the hit single “Innocent.” The album’s success propelled him into the spotlight and established him as a rising R&B star.
  • 1987: Building on his success, O’Neal released his second album, “Hearsay,” which became a major commercial hit. The album featured iconic tracks like “Fake” and “Criticize,” both of which topped the charts and solidified his status as an R&B sensation.
  • 1988: O’Neal’s collaboration with Cherrelle on the duet “Saturday Love” further elevated his profile. The song became a chart-topping hit and remains a classic of the era.
  • 1990: O’Neal continued to release successful albums throughout the early 1990s, including “All True Man” (1991) and “Love Makes No Sense” (1993). These albums showcased his ability to evolve with the changing R&B landscape.
  • 2008: O’Neal’s enduring popularity led to him touring internationally and performing his timeless hits to adoring fans across the globe. His live performances remained a testament to his vocal prowess.
  • 2020: Despite the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, Alexander O’Neal continued to captivate audiences with his music. His classic tracks continued to resonate with fans, and he remained a cherished figure in the world of R&B and soul.


  • Albums:
    1. “Alexander O’Neal” (1985)
    2. “Hearsay” (1987)
    3. “All True Man” (1991)
    4. “Love Makes No Sense” (1993)
    5. “Lovers Again” (2002)
    6. “Five Questions: The New Journey” (2005)
    7. “Five Questions: The New Journey, Pt. 2” (2007)
    8. “Five Questions: The New Journey, Pt. 3” (2008)
    9. “Icon” (2011)
    10. “My Gift to You” (2012)


Alexander O’Neal is primarily a solo artist, known for his distinctive vocals and solo career. While he has collaborated with various musicians and producers on his albums and live performances, there are no permanent band members associated with his work.

Official Social Media Accounts:

Here is a list of official social media accounts for Alexander O’Neal:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.