Alice In Chains Information

Alice In Chains is a legendary American rock band that emerged from the grunge movement of the early 1990s. The band’s music is characterized by its dark and introspective lyrics, intricate harmonies, and a blend of heavy metal and alternative rock influences. Formed in 1987 in Seattle, Washington, the band has endured challenges and triumphs throughout its career, becoming one of the most iconic and enduring acts of the grunge era.

The band’s original lineup consisted of Layne Staley (vocals), Jerry Cantrell (guitar and vocals), Mike Starr (bass), and Sean Kinney (drums). Alice In Chains gained early recognition in the local Seattle scene and released their debut album, “Facelift”, in 1990. The album’s singles, including “Man in the Box” and “Bleed the Freak”, received significant airplay and showcased the band’s ability to fuse heavy riffs with melodic vocal harmonies.

Alice In Chains’ breakthrough came with their second album, “Dirt” (1992). The album’s raw and emotional themes, often centered around addiction and personal struggles, resonated deeply with listeners. Singles like “Would?” and “Rooster” became anthems of the grunge era, and the album solidified the band’s position in the music industry.

Tragedy struck the band with the passing of bassist Mike Starr in 2011, highlighting the struggles with addiction that had affected some of its members. Mike Inez subsequently joined as the band’s new bassist. The loss of original lead vocalist Layne Staley in 2002 due to a drug overdose was another devastating blow, but the band continued to honor his memory and legacy.

After a period of uncertainty, Alice In Chains made a triumphant return with their self-titled album, “Alice In Chains” (2009), featuring new lead vocalist William DuVall alongside founding member Jerry Cantrell. The album marked a new era for the band while retaining the signature sound that fans had come to love.

In 2013, the band released their fifth studio album, “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”, which continued to showcase their distinctive sound and lyrical depth. Songs like “Hollow” and “Stone” maintained the band’s ability to create music that was both heavy and emotionally resonant.

Alice In Chains’ contributions to rock music and their status as a pioneering grunge band were further solidified with their inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013.


  • “Facelift” (1990)
  • “Dirt” (1992)
  • “Jar of Flies” (1994) – EP
  • “Alice in Chains” (1995)
  • “Black Gives Way to Blue” (2009)
  • “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” (2013)
  • “Rainier Fog” (2018)

Current Members:

  • Jerry Cantrell (guitar and vocals)
  • William DuVall (vocals and guitar)
  • Mike Inez (bass)
  • Sean Kinney (drums)

Official Social Media Accounts:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.