American Aquarium Information

American Aquarium, an alt-country band hailing from Raleigh, North Carolina, has made waves in the American music scene with their raw and introspective storytelling. Formed in 2006 by lead vocalist and songwriter B.J. Barham, the band has undergone various lineup changes while consistently delivering heartfelt and relatable music.

The band’s journey began with the release of their debut album, “Antique Hearts,” in 2006. This album laid the foundation for their distinctive sound, blending elements of rock, country, and Americana. While it may not have received widespread recognition at the time, it marked the start of American Aquarium‘s commitment to honest and authentic songwriting.

In 2008, the band released their second album, “The Bible and the Bottle,” which garnered critical acclaim and introduced them to a broader audience. The album’s standout tracks, including “Katherine Belle” and “Rattlesnake,” showcased B.J. Barham‘s storytelling prowess and the band’s evolving musical prowess.

American Aquarium‘s 2012 album, “Burn. Flicker. Die.,” marked a significant turning point in their career. This release featured introspective songs that delved into themes of addiction, heartache, and personal growth. The album resonated deeply with listeners and established the band as a force to be reckoned with in the alt-country and Americana scenes.

As their popularity grew, American Aquarium underwent several lineup changes, with B.J. Barham remaining the constant driving force behind the band. The changes in personnel brought fresh perspectives and musical influences to the group, contributing to their evolving sound.

The band continued to release critically acclaimed albums, including “Wolves” (2015) and “Things Change” (2018). These albums expanded their fan base and solidified their reputation for poignant storytelling and evocative songwriting.

In 2020, American Aquarium released “Lamentations,” an album that explored themes of love, loss, and the complexities of modern American life. The album received widespread acclaim and further cemented their status as a significant voice in the Americana genre.

American Aquarium has toured extensively throughout their career, captivating audiences with their electrifying live performances. Their dedication to connecting with fans and sharing authentic stories has earned them a devoted following.

American Aquarium’s Discography:

  1. Antique Hearts” (2006)
    • Notable Tracks: “California,” “Katherine Belle,” “Anne Marie”
  2. The Bible and the Bottle” (2008)
    • Notable Tracks: “Lonely Ain’t Easy,” “Rattlesnake,” “Queen of the Scene”
  3. Dances for the Lonely” (2009)
    • Notable Tracks: “Queen of the Scene,” “PBR Promenade,” “Water in the Well”
  4. Small Town Hymns” (2009)
    • Notable Tracks: “Road to Nowhere,” “Last Stand,” “Water in the Well”
  5. Burn. Flicker. Die.” (2012)
    • Notable Tracks: “Cape Fear River,” “Saturday Nights,” “Burn. Flicker. Die.”
  6. Wolves” (2015)
    • Notable Tracks: “Family Problems,” “Wolves,” “Losing Side of Twenty-Five”
  7. Things Change” (2018)
    • Notable Tracks: “The World Is on Fire,” “One Day at a Time,” “Tough Folks”
  8. Lamentations” (2020)
    • Notable Tracks: “Before the Dogwood Blooms,” “Six Years Come September,” “The Luckier You Get”

Current Members of American Aquarium:

  • B.J. Barham – Lead Vocals and Songwriter
  • Shane Boeker – Lead Guitar
  • Joey Bybee – Drums
  • Ben Hussey – Bass
  • Chad Walls – Keyboard and Guitar
  • Neil Jones – Pedal Steel and Electric Guitar

American Aquarium’s Official Social Media Accounts:

American Aquarium‘s enduring journey in the world of alt-country and Americana is a testament to their dedication to honest storytelling and musical authenticity. Their songs continue to resonate with fans, offering a glimpse into the complexities of life and the human experience. As they continue to evolve and connect with audiences, their place in American music remains secure.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.