Anberlin Information

Anberlin is an American alternative rock band that emerged from the vibrant music scene of Winter Haven, Florida in 2002. Recognized for their emotive lyrics, anthemic melodies, and dynamic live performances, the band carved a significant niche for themselves in the alternative and post-hardcore genres.

The band’s formation marked the convergence of talents from different local bands. Stephen Christian (vocals), Joseph Milligan (guitar), and Deon Rexroat (bass) had previously performed together, while Nathan Strayer (guitar) and Nathan Young (drums) joined to complete the lineup. Anberlin‘s name is a combination of the city “Winter Haven” and the famous American novelist Anaïs Nin.

Anberlin‘s early career saw them signed to the label Tooth & Nail Records. Their debut album, “Blueprints for the Black Market”, released in 2003, showcased their blend of alternative rock and post-hardcore. The album’s earnest songwriting and energetic sound set the foundation for their subsequent releases.

In 2005, Anberlin released their breakthrough album, “Never Take Friendship Personal”. This release demonstrated their growth as songwriters and musicians, with tracks like “Paperthin Hymn” and “A Day Late” resonating with fans and receiving airplay on alternative rock radio stations. The album’s success elevated their status within the music industry.

The band’s 2007 album, “Cities”, marked a significant evolution in their sound. With a more polished and expansive production, the album explored themes of urban life and introspection. “Godspeed”, “The Unwinding Cable Car”, and “Adelaide” were standout tracks that showcased the band’s ability to create emotionally charged and anthemic songs.

Anberlin‘s reputation for delivering powerful live performances grew as they embarked on tours with prominent bands. Their energetic stage presence and ability to connect with audiences further solidified their status as a force to be reckoned with in the alternative rock scene.

The band’s 2008 album, “New Surrender”, marked their major-label debut with Universal Republic Records. While continuing to build on their alternative rock foundation, the album featured a more accessible and radio-friendly sound. The single “Feel Good Drag” became a major hit, reaching new audiences and earning them increased mainstream recognition.

Anberlin‘s subsequent albums, including “Dark Is the Way, Light Is a Place” (2010), “Vital” (2012), and “Lowborn” (2014), demonstrated their commitment to sonic experimentation and growth. Their music continued to evolve while maintaining the core elements that endeared them to fans.

In 2014, the band announced that they would be disbanding after a final tour. Their farewell tour, appropriately titled “Final Tour”, allowed them to bid farewell to their dedicated fan base while performing in various cities around the world. The tour concluded with an emotional show in their hometown of Orlando, Florida.

Despite the disbandment, Anberlin‘s impact on the alternative rock scene remains undeniable. Their passionate lyrics, soaring melodies, and genuine connection with their audience have left a lasting legacy.


  • “Blueprints for the Black Market” (2003)
  • “Never Take Friendship Personal” (2005)
  • “Cities” (2007)
  • “New Surrender” (2008)
  • “Dark Is the Way, Light Is a Place” (2010)
  • “Vital” (2012)
  • “Lowborn” (2014)


  • Stephen Christian (vocals)
  • Joseph Milligan (guitar)
  • Deon Rexroat (bass)
  • Nathan Strayer (guitar)
  • Nathan Young (drums)

Social Media Accounts

To listen to Anberlin‘s music, you can visit:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.