Anvil Information

Anvil is a Canadian heavy metal band that has achieved iconic status in the metal community for their pioneering contributions to the genre and their enduring dedication to their craft. Formed in Toronto, Ontario, in 1978, Anvil‘s history is a testament to their perseverance, influence, and the genuine passion they hold for their music.

Anvil‘s timeline began with the formation of the band by Steve “Lips” Kudlow (vocals/guitar) and Robb Reiner (drums). They were soon joined by Dave “Squirrely” Allison (guitar) and Ian “Dix” Dickson (bass), completing the classic lineup. The band’s early years were marked by their energetic live performances and their drive to create a unique sound that would set them apart in the emerging heavy metal scene.

In 1981, Anvil released their debut album, “Hard ‘n’ Heavy,” which established their place in the metal landscape. The album’s raw energy, combined with their punk-infused approach to metal, garnered them a loyal fanbase and critical acclaim. Anvil‘s history of innovation was evident in their music, which showcased their ability to blend aggressive riffs with catchy hooks.

However, despite their early promise, Anvil faced challenges in achieving mainstream success. The band’s history took a notable turn with the release of their documentary film, “Anvil! The Story of Anvil,” in 2008. The documentary shed light on their struggles, the influence they had on other bands, and their unwavering dedication to their music despite setbacks. The film introduced them to a new generation of fans and renewed interest in their work.

Anvil‘s timeline continued with their album releases, including “This Is Thirteen” (2007), “Juggernaut of Justice” (2011), and “Anvil Is Anvil” (2016). These albums showcased their evolution while maintaining their signature sound and uncompromising attitude. Their music and live performances continued to resonate with fans who admired their authenticity and resilience.


  • Hard ‘n’ Heavy” (1981) – Album
  • Metal on Metal” (1982) – Album
  • Forged in Fire” (1983) – Album
  • Strength of Steel” (1987) – Album
  • Pound for Pound” (1988) – Album
  • This Is Thirteen” (2007) – Album
  • Juggernaut of Justice” (2011) – Album
  • Anvil Is Anvil” (2016) – Album


  • Steve “Lips” Kudlow (vocals, guitar)
  • Robb Reiner (drums)
  • Dave “Squirrely” Allison (guitar)
  • Ian “Dix” Dickson (bass)

Social Media Accounts:

Platform Link

Anvil‘s history is a testament to their enduring passion for heavy metal music and their influence on the genre. Their journey, marked by dedication and a commitment to their craft, has earned them a special place in the hearts of metal fans around the world.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.