Apex Theory Information

The Apex Theory was an American rock band known for their unique blend of alternative rock, post-hardcore, and progressive elements. Formed in the late 1990s, the band enjoyed a brief but impactful presence in the music scene before undergoing lineup changes and ultimately disbanding. Let’s explore the history and timeline of this intriguing group.

Formation and Early Years (Late 1990s): The Apex Theory was originally formed in 1999 in Los Angeles, California, under the name “Apex.” The original lineup included Ontronik “Andy” Khachaturian (vocals), Art Karamian (bass), David Hakopyan (guitar), and Sammy J. Watson (drums). Khachaturian, the band’s charismatic frontman, was previously a member of the renowned band System of a Down.

Debut EP and Recognition (Early 2000s): In 2001, the band released their self-titled debut EP, which featured a distinct fusion of musical styles, including rock, metal, and progressive rock. The EP garnered attention for its intricate songwriting and Khachaturian’s emotive vocals. Songs like “Shhh… (Hope Diggy)” and “Bullshed” showcased the band’s technical prowess and innovative approach to music.

During this time, the band decided to add “Theory” to their name, becoming “The Apex Theory,” possibly to avoid any confusion with similarly named acts. This period marked the apex of their recognition in the music scene.

Topsy-Turvy and Lineup Changes (2002-2003): In 2002, The Apex Theory released their first full-length album, “Topsy-Turvy,” which further demonstrated their willingness to experiment with different musical genres. The album featured tracks like “Apossibly” and “Add Mission”, where the band continued to explore their signature fusion of alternative rock, metal, and progressive elements.

However, the band’s journey was marked by significant lineup changes. Notably, Ontronik Khachaturian left the group, which led to the recruitment of new vocalist Travis Neal. This transition brought a change in the band’s musical direction, and they continued under the name “Mt. Helium” for a brief period.

Post-Apex Era and Disbandment (2003-Present): After the departure of Ontronik Khachaturian, the original essence of The Apex Theory evolved into a new musical project known as “Mt. Helium.” Under this name, the band released an album titled “Faces” in 2004, which showcased a different sonic direction.

While The Apex Theory left a notable mark on the music scene during their active years, their legacy is somewhat divided due to the lineup changes and the subsequent transformation into Mt. Helium. Despite this, their pioneering blend of rock, metal, and progressive elements continues to resonate with fans of experimental and genre-defying music.


  1. EPs:
    • “The Apex Theory” (2001)
  2. Albums:
    • “Topsy-Turvy” (2002) as The Apex Theory
    • “Faces” (2004) as Mt. Helium

Members: Original Lineup (The Apex Theory):

  • Ontronik “Andy” Khachaturian (vocals)
  • Art Karamian (bass)
  • David Hakopyan (guitar)
  • Sammy J. Watson (drums)

Later Lineup Changes:

  • Travis Neal replaced Ontronik Khachaturian as the vocalist after his departure.

Official Social Media Accounts:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.