Arch Enemy Information

Arch Enemy is a Swedish melodic death metal band that has become a prominent figure in the metal genre since its formation. Known for their powerful and aggressive sound, the band’s history is marked by their historical formation, lineup changes, and their consistent output of intense and dynamic music.

The band’s history dates back to 1996, when guitarist Michael Amott left his former band Carcass and decided to form a new project. Amott, along with his brother Christopher Amott on guitar, Johan Liiva on vocals, Martin Bengtsson on bass, and Daniel Erlandsson on drums, established Arch Enemy. The band aimed to create a blend of classic melodic metal with the ferocity of death metal.

In 1996, Arch Enemy released their debut album, “Black Earth.” The album laid the foundation for their signature sound, combining melodic guitar riffs with aggressive vocals and powerful drumming. While their debut garnered attention within the metal community, it was their second album, “Stigmata,” released in 1998, that began to solidify their place in the genre.

A significant change occurred in the band’s lineup in 2000, when vocalist Angela Gossow replaced Johan Liiva. Gossow’s powerful growls and commanding stage presence added a new dimension to Arch Enemy’s sound and propelled them to even greater heights. The historical album “Wages of Sin,” released in the same year, marked Gossow’s debut with the band and received widespread acclaim for its aggression and melody.

Arch Enemy’s discography continued to expand with albums like “Anthems of Rebellion” (2003) and “Doomsday Machine” (2005), showcasing their ability to maintain a balance between melody and brutality. In 2014, the band released “War Eternal,” featuring new vocalist Alissa White-Gluz after Angela Gossow stepped down from fronting the band. This marked another significant transition in the band’s history.

The band’s lineup has continued to evolve over the years, but the Amott brothers have remained consistent members, contributing to the band’s musical direction and growth. Their historical collaborative efforts have led to the creation of some of Arch Enemy’s most memorable tracks.


  • Black Earth” (1996) – Album
  • Stigmata” (1998) – Album
  • Burning Bridges” (1999) – Album
  • Wages of Sin” (2001) – Album
  • Anthems of Rebellion” (2003) – Album
  • Doomsday Machine” (2005) – Album
  • Rise of the Tyrant” (2007) – Album
  • The Root of All Evil” (2009) – Compilation Album
  • Khaos Legions” (2011) – Album
  • War Eternal” (2014) – Album
  • Will to Power” (2017) – Album
  • Deceiver of the Gods” (2022) – Album

Current Members:

  • Michael Amott – Lead Guitar
  • Jeff Loomis – Lead Guitar
  • Sharlee D’Angelo – Bass
  • Alissa White-Gluz – Vocals
  • Daniel Erlandsson – Drums

Arch Enemy’s historical impact on the metal scene extends beyond their music. Their energetic live performances and dedication to their craft have earned them a dedicated fan base around the world.

Official Social Media Accounts:

Platform Link
Facebook Link
Twitter Link
Instagram Link
YouTube Link
Spotify Link

Arch Enemy’s history showcases their evolution from a melodic death metal project to a prominent force in the metal genre. Their ability to consistently deliver powerful and engaging music, along with their commitment to their art, has solidified their position as one of the most influential bands in the metal community.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.