Australian Crawl Information

History and Timeline of Australian Crawl:

Australian Crawl was a prominent Australian rock band that achieved significant success during the 1980s. Known for their catchy songs and charismatic frontman, James Reyne, the band left a lasting impact on the Australian music scene. Here’s a timeline of their musical journey:

1978: Australian Crawl was formed in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. The founding members included James Reyne (vocals), Simon Binks (lead guitar), Brad Robinson (rhythm guitar), Paul Williams (bass), David Reyne (drums), and Bill McDonough (drums). Their early music was influenced by rock, new wave, and pop.

1980: The band released their debut album, “The Boys Light Up.” The album’s title track, along with songs like “Indisposed” and “Beautiful People,” became instant hits and helped Australian Crawl gain widespread recognition.

1981: Australian Crawl released their second album, “Sirocco,” which featured memorable tracks like “Things Don’t Seem,” “Errol,” and “Oh No Not You Again.” The album’s success solidified their position as one of Australia’s leading rock bands.

1982: Their third album, “Sons of Beaches,” further established their reputation. Songs like “Shutdown” and “Runaway Girls” showcased their continued songwriting prowess and musical evolution.

1983: After the release of their fourth album, “Semantics,” the band faced internal conflicts and lineup changes. These challenges, along with James Reyne’s solo aspirations, led to Australian Crawl’s eventual breakup.

1986: James Reyne officially left the band to pursue a successful solo career. The remaining members disbanded, marking the end of Australian Crawl’s active years.

Despite their relatively short career, Australian Crawl’s music remains a beloved part of Australian rock history, and their hits continue to be celebrated classics.


Here is a list of Australian Crawl’s studio albums:

  1. “The Boys Light Up” (1980)
    • Notable Tracks: “The Boys Light Up,” “Indisposed,” “Beautiful People”
  2. “Sirocco” (1981)
    • Notable Tracks: “Errol,” “Things Don’t Seem,” “Oh No Not You Again”
  3. “Sons of Beaches” (1982)
    • Notable Tracks: “Shutdown,” “Runaway Girls,” “Daughters of the Northern Coast”
  4. “Semantics” (1983)
    • Notable Tracks: “Reckless (Don’t Be So…),” “Two Can Play,” “Unpublished Critics”

Australian Crawl’s discography is marked by their catchy melodies, relatable lyrics, and their ability to capture the essence of Australian coastal life.


The core members of Australian Crawl during their active years included:

  • James Reyne (vocals)
  • Simon Binks (lead guitar)
  • Brad Robinson (rhythm guitar)
  • Paul Williams (bass)
  • David Reyne (drums)
  • Bill McDonough (drums)

Official Social Media Accounts:

As Australian Crawl was active primarily in the 1980s, they do not have official social media accounts. However, fans can find their music on platforms like YouTube and Spotify.

Platform Link
YouTube Australian Crawl on YouTube
Spotify Australian Crawl on Spotify

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.