Autotelic Information

History and Timeline of Autotelic

Autotelic is a Filipino indie pop band known for their distinctive sound and emotionally charged lyrics. Formed in 2011, the band has made significant contributions to the OPM (Original Pilipino Music) scene, earning a dedicated fanbase and critical acclaim. This timeline highlights key events and milestones in the history of Autotelic:

2011 – Formation: Autotelic was formed in Quezon City, Philippines. The original lineup included Josh Villena (vocals and rhythm guitar), Neil Tin (lead guitar), Kai Honasan (keyboards and vocals), Jal Taguibao (bass), and Gep Macadaeg (drums). The band’s name, “Autotelic,” is derived from the Greek words “auto” (self) and “telos” (goal), reflecting their self-driven approach to creating music.

2014 – Debut Single: Autotelic released their debut single, “Laro,” which quickly gained popularity on local radio stations and introduced the band’s signature sound characterized by introspective lyrics and catchy melodies.

2015 – Self-Titled Album: The band released their self-titled debut album, “Autotelic,” featuring tracks like “Dahilan” and “Languyin.” The album received positive reviews and established Autotelic as a rising force in the Filipino music scene.

2016 – Breakthrough Year: Autotelic’s single “Laro” won the prestigious PhilPop Music Festival, solidifying their presence in the mainstream music industry. The band’s music videos gained millions of views on YouTube, and they became known for their energetic live performances.

2017 – Nakaraang Pasko EP: Autotelic released the EP “Nakaraang Pasko” (Last Christmas), which included the hit single “Gising.” The EP showcased their ability to craft emotionally resonant songs that connected with their audience.

2018 – Papunta Pabalik Album: Autotelic released their second studio album, “Papunta Pabalik,” featuring tracks like “Languyin,” “Takipsilim,” and “Hindi Mo Ba Alam.” The album explored themes of self-discovery and change, garnering critical acclaim.

2019 – Lineup Changes: Kai Honasan and Gep Macadaeg left the band, leading to the departure of their keyboard-driven sound. Autotelic continued as a five-piece band, with Josh Villena, Neil Tin, Jal Taguibao, Timothy Abbott (drums), and Ej Edralin (synths and vocals).

2020 – Practice Sessions: The band used the lockdown period during the COVID-19 pandemic to engage with fans through online practice sessions and acoustic performances. This allowed them to maintain a strong connection with their audience despite the restrictions on live performances.

2021 – Iwan EP: Autotelic released the EP “Iwan” (Leave), which included tracks like “Iwan” and “Bitaw.” The EP continued to showcase their ability to craft heartfelt and relatable songs, even in the midst of challenging times.

2022 – Experimental Phase: Autotelic hinted at exploring new sonic directions, incorporating experimental elements into their music. Fans eagerly anticipated the band’s future releases, excited to see where their musical journey would lead.

2023 – Upcoming Projects: As of the current year, Autotelic has not released any official announcements regarding new albums or projects. However, their dedicated fanbase eagerly anticipates their next musical endeavors.


  1. Autotelic (2015)
    • Notable Tracks: “Dahilan,” “Languyin,” “Misteryoso”
  2. Papunta Pabalik (2018)
    • Notable Tracks: “Takipsilim,” “Laro,” “Gising”
  3. Nakaraang Pasko EP (2017)
    • Notable Tracks: “Gising,” “Ulan,” “Laro (Acoustic Version)”
  4. Iwan EP (2021)
    • Notable Tracks: “Iwan,” “Bitaw,” “Walang Kaso”

Current Members

  • Josh Villena – Vocals and Rhythm Guitar
  • Neil Tin – Lead Guitar
  • Jal Taguibao – Bass
  • Timothy Abbott – Drums
  • Ej Edralin – Synths and Vocals

Official Social Media Accounts

Autotelic’s journey through the Filipino music landscape has been marked by growth, experimentation, and an unwavering connection with their audience. Their emotionally charged lyrics and evolving sound continue to resonate with fans, making them a notable presence in the OPM scene. Keep an eye on their official social media accounts for updates on their future music endeavors.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.