Avalanche City Information

History and Timeline of Avalanche City

Avalanche City is a New Zealand-based indie folk band known for their heartfelt melodies and emotionally charged lyrics. The brainchild of singer-songwriter Dave Baxter, Avalanche City has garnered international acclaim. Here’s a timeline highlighting key events and milestones in the history of Avalanche City:

2011 – Debut Single: Dave Baxter, under the moniker Avalanche City, released his debut single, “Love, Love, Love.” The song quickly gained popularity in New Zealand and showcased his knack for crafting catchy folk-pop melodies.

2011 – “Our New Life Above the Ground” EP: Avalanche City released their debut EP, “Our New Life Above the Ground,” featuring tracks like “You and I” and “Go.” The EP’s success laid the foundation for their future endeavors.

2011 – “Our New Life Above the Ground” Album: Building on the EP’s success, Avalanche City released a full-length album of the same name, “Our New Life Above the Ground.” The album received critical acclaim and propelled Dave Baxter into the international music scene.

2012 – Breakout Year: Avalanche City’s single “Love, Love, Love” gained traction internationally, earning radio play in various countries. The song’s feel-good vibes and infectious melody resonated with a wide audience.

2015 – “We Are for the Wild Places” Album: Dave Baxter released his second studio album, “We Are for the Wild Places,” as Avalanche City. The album featured tracks like “Keep Finding a Way” and “Inside Out,” continuing the band’s tradition of crafting emotionally resonant music.

2018 – “My Babylon” Single: Avalanche City released the single “My Babylon,” hinting at a return to their signature folk-pop sound with a renewed sense of storytelling.

2020 – “Prayed for Love” Single: Dave Baxter continued to release music as Avalanche City, sharing the single “Prayed for Love.” The song’s introspective lyrics and acoustic instrumentation showcased his songwriting prowess.

2021 – “The Kind of Woman” Single: Avalanche City released “The Kind of Woman,” further solidifying their place in the indie folk genre. The single highlighted Dave Baxter’s ability to convey complex emotions through his music.

2023 – Ongoing Creativity: As of the current year, Avalanche City continues to create music that resonates with fans worldwide. Their unique blend of folk and pop elements, combined with Baxter’s heartfelt lyrics, ensures their enduring presence in the music industry.


Avalanche City’s discography showcases their ability to create emotionally charged indie folk music:


  1. Our New Life Above the Ground” (2011)
    • Notable Tracks: “Love, Love, Love,” “Go,” “You and I”
  2. We Are for the Wild Places” (2015)
    • Notable Tracks: “Keep Finding a Way,” “Inside Out,” “Don’t Fall Asleep”


  1. “Love, Love, Love” (2011)
  2. “My Babylon” (2018)
  3. “Prayed for Love” (2020)
  4. “The Kind of Woman” (2021)


Avalanche City primarily revolves around the talents of singer-songwriter Dave Baxter, who is the creative force behind the band.

  • Dave Baxter – Vocals, Guitar, Songwriting

Official Social Media Accounts

Platform Link
YouTube Avalanche City on YouTube
Spotify Avalanche City on Spotify
Facebook Avalanche City on Facebook
Twitter Avalanche City on Twitter
Instagram Avalanche City on Instagram

Avalanche City’s music continues to connect with audiences worldwide, thanks to their relatable lyrics and Dave Baxter’s emotive delivery. Fans can follow the band on their official social media accounts to stay updated on their musical journey and future releases.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.