Avatar Information

History and Timeline of Avatar

Avatar, a Swedish heavy metal band known for their theatrical live performances and eclectic style, has carved a unique niche in the metal scene. The band’s history is marked by a commitment to pushing musical boundaries and delivering captivating shows. Here’s a timeline highlighting key events and milestones in the history of Avatar:

2001 – Formation:

  • Avatar was formed in Gothenburg, Sweden, with the original lineup consisting of Johannes Eckerström (vocals), John Alfredsson (drums), Simon Andersson (bass), Jonas Jarlsby (guitar), and Henrik Sandelin (guitar).

2003 – Debut Album “Thoughts of No Tomorrow”:

  • The band released their debut studio album, “Thoughts of No Tomorrow,” which showcased their early melodic death metal style and earned them recognition in the metal underground.

2007 – “Schlacht”:

  • Avatar released “Schlacht,” which marked a transition towards a heavier and more aggressive sound. The album included tracks like “Blod” and “Schlacht.”

2009 – “Avatar”:

  • The band released a self-titled album, “Avatar,” which showcased their evolving style and included tracks like “Queen of Blades” and “The Great Pretender.”

2012 – “Black Waltz” and Wider Recognition:

  • “Black Waltz,” an album with a blend of metalcore and industrial influences, was released. The album featured tracks like “Let Us Die” and “Torn Apart.” It brought the band wider recognition.

2014 – “Hail the Apocalypse”:

  • Avatar released “Hail the Apocalypse,” featuring the title track and “Bloody Angel.” The album marked a fusion of various metal subgenres and gained international acclaim.

2016 – “Feathers & Flesh” Concept Album:

  • The band released the concept album “Feathers & Flesh,” a story-driven record with tracks like “Regret” and “House of Eternal Hunt.”

2018 – “Avatar Country”:

  • Avatar released “Avatar Country,” a concept album set in a fictional country. The album featured tracks like “A Statue of the King” and “The King Welcomes You to Avatar Country.”

2020 – “Hunter Gatherer”:

  • The band released “Hunter Gatherer,” showcasing their heavier and more experimental side. The album included songs like “Colossus” and “A Secret Door.”

2022 – Ongoing Impact:

  • As of the current year, Avatar continues to make waves in the metal scene, captivating audiences with their dynamic live performances and genre-defying music.


Avatar’s discography reflects their musical evolution:

Studio Albums:

  1. Thoughts of No Tomorrow” (2006)
    • Notable Tracks: “Two-Faced Charade,” “Slavesong,” “The Willy”
  2. Schlacht” (2007)
    • Notable Tracks: “Blod,” “Schlacht,” “Dying to See You Dead”
  3. Avatar” (2009)
    • Notable Tracks: “Queen of Blades,” “The Great Pretender,” “Something in the Way”
  4. Black Waltz” (2012)
    • Notable Tracks: “Let Us Die,” “Torn Apart,” “Use Your Tongue”
  5. Hail the Apocalypse” (2014)
    • Notable Tracks: “Hail the Apocalypse,” “Bloody Angel,” “Vultures Fly”
  6. Feathers & Flesh” (2016)
    • Notable Tracks: “Regret,” “House of Eternal Hunt,” “New Land”
  7. Avatar Country” (2018)
    • Notable Tracks: “A Statue of the King,” “The King Welcomes You to Avatar Country,” “King’s Harvest”
  8. Hunter Gatherer” (2020)
    • Notable Tracks: “Colossus,” “A Secret Door,” “Scream Until You Wake”

Current Members

As of the current year, Avatar consists of the following members:

  • Johannes Eckerström – Vocals
  • Jonas Jarlsby – Guitar
  • Simon Andersson – Bass
  • John Alfredsson – Drums
  • Tim Öhrström – Guitar

Official Social Media Accounts

Platform Link
YouTube Avatar on YouTube
Spotify Avatar on Spotify
Facebook Avatar on Facebook
Twitter Avatar on Twitter
Instagram Avatar on Instagram

Avatar’s theatrical and genre-blending approach to metal music has garnered them a dedicated fanbase. Follow them on their official social media accounts to stay updated on their music releases and theatrical live performances.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.