Avenged Sevenfold Information

History and Timeline of Avenged Sevenfold

Avenged Sevenfold, often abbreviated as A7X, is an American rock band known for their diverse musical style, encompassing elements of metal, hard rock, and punk. Formed in the late 1990s, the band has established itself as one of the leading figures in modern rock and metal music. Here’s a timeline highlighting key events and milestones in the history of Avenged Sevenfold:

1999 – Formation:

  • Avenged Sevenfold was formed in Huntington Beach, California, with the original lineup consisting of M. Shadows (vocals), Synyster Gates (lead guitar), Zacky Vengeance (rhythm guitar), The Rev (drums), and Matt Wendt (bass). They adopted the name “Avenged Sevenfold” from the Bible, specifically from the Book of Genesis.

2001 – Debut Album “Sounding the Seventh Trumpet”:

  • The band released their debut studio album, “Sounding the Seventh Trumpet.” While the album received mixed reviews, it showcased their early metalcore style and laid the foundation for their future work.

2003 – “Waking the Fallen”:

  • Avenged Sevenfold released their second album, “Waking the Fallen,” which marked a shift towards a more melodic and metalcore sound. The album received critical acclaim and included tracks like “Unholy Confessions” and “Second Heartbeat.”

2005 – “City of Evil”:

  • The band’s third album, “City of Evil,” marked a significant departure from their previous style, embracing a more hard rock and heavy metal sound. The album included hits like “Bat Country” and “Beast and the Harlot.”

2007 – “Avenged Sevenfold” (Self-Titled Album):

  • Avenged Sevenfold released their self-titled album, which showcased their evolving sound and included tracks like “Almost Easy” and “Afterlife.” The album received widespread acclaim and commercial success.

2009 – The Rev’s Passing and “Nightmare”:

  • Tragedy struck the band as their drummer, The Rev (James Sullivan), passed away. Despite the loss, they released “Nightmare,” featuring songs like “Nightmare” and “Welcome to the Family,” with drumming contributions from Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater.

2010 – “Welcome to the Family” Tour:

  • Avenged Sevenfold embarked on the “Welcome to the Family” tour, solidifying their position as a major force in the rock and metal scene.

2013 – “Hail to the King”:

  • The band released “Hail to the King,” which marked a stylistic shift towards a more classic hard rock and heavy metal sound. The album included tracks like “Shepherd of Fire” and the title track, “Hail to the King.”

2016 – “The Stage” and New Drummer:

  • Avenged Sevenfold released “The Stage,” an album that showcased their progressive and experimental tendencies. This was also the first album to feature their new drummer, Brooks Wackerman.

2018 – “End of the World Tour”:

  • The band embarked on the “End of the World Tour,” performing in various parts of the world and showcasing their dynamic live performances.

2020 – “Diamonds in the Rough” and “Live in the LBC & Diamonds in the Rough”:

  • Avenged Sevenfold released “Diamonds in the Rough,” a compilation album featuring previously unreleased tracks, and “Live in the LBC & Diamonds in the Rough,” a live album and DVD package.

2021 – Ongoing Activity:

  • As of the current year, Avenged Sevenfold continues to be active in the music scene, with fans eagerly awaiting new music and live performances.


Avenged Sevenfold’s discography reflects their evolution in sound and style:

Studio Albums:

  1. Sounding the Seventh Trumpet” (2001)
    • Notable Tracks: “To End the Rapture,” “Darkness Surrounding,” “Lips of Deceit”
  2. Waking the Fallen” (2003)
    • Notable Tracks: “Unholy Confessions,” “Second Heartbeat,” “Eternal Rest”
  3. City of Evil” (2005)
    • Notable Tracks: “Bat Country,” “Beast and the Harlot,” “Seize the Day”
  4. Avenged Sevenfold” (2007)
    • Notable Tracks: “Almost Easy,” “Afterlife,” “Scream”
  5. Nightmare” (2010)
    • Notable Tracks: “Nightmare,” “Welcome to the Family,” “So Far Away”
  6. Hail to the King” (2013)
    • Notable Tracks: “Hail to the King,” “Shepherd of Fire,” “This Means War”
  7. The Stage” (2016)
    • Notable Tracks: “The Stage,” “God Damn,” “Higher”

Live Albums:

  • Live in the LBC & Diamonds in the Rough” (2008)
  • The Stage: Deluxe Edition” (2017)

Current Members

As of the current year, Avenged Sevenfold consists of the following members:

  • M. Shadows (Matthew Charles Sanders) – Lead Vocals
  • Synyster Gates (Brian Elwin Haner Jr.) – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Zacky Vengeance (Zachary James Baker) – Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Johnny Christ (Jonathan Lewis Seward) – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Brooks Wackerman (Brooks David Wackerman) – Drums, Percussion

Official Social Media Accounts

Platform Link
YouTube Avenged Sevenfold on YouTube
Spotify Avenged Sevenfold on Spotify
Facebook Avenged Sevenfold on Facebook
Twitter Avenged Sevenfold on Twitter
Instagram Avenged Sevenfold on Instagram

Avenged Sevenfold’s journey through the years has seen them experiment with various styles while maintaining their status as rock and metal icons. Follow them on their official social media accounts to stay updated on their music, tours, and future releases.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.