Boy George Information

Boy George, a prominent figure in the music industry, is a British singer, songwriter, and fashion icon known for his distinctive voice, unique style, and impactful contributions to pop culture. His journey is a testament to his resilience, talent, and enduring influence.


  • 1961: Boy George, whose real name is George Alan O’Dowd, was born on June 14th in London, England. His upbringing in a working-class family influenced his eclectic sense of style and artistic expression.
  • 1970s: George developed an interest in music and fashion, often frequenting London’s nightlife and club scene. His distinctive appearance and flamboyant fashion choices would later become his signature.
  • 1981: Boy George formed the band Culture Club as the lead vocalist. The band’s unique blend of new wave, pop, and soul music gained them a dedicated following.
  • 1982: Culture Club released their debut album, “Kissing to Be Clever,” which included the hit single “Do You Really Want to Hurt Me.” The song’s success propelled the band to international stardom.
  • 1983: The album “Colour by Numbers” featured the iconic single “Karma Chameleon,” which became a massive hit and showcased Boy George’s androgynous style.
  • 1984: Culture Club released their third album, “Waking Up with the House on Fire,” which continued their streak of hits, including “The War Song.”
  • 1985: The band released their fourth album, “From Luxury to Heartache,” but tensions within the group began to surface, leading to a temporary hiatus.
  • 1986: Boy George embarked on a solo career with the release of his debut album, “Sold.” The album included the hit single “Everything I Own” and showcased his evolving musical style.
  • 1987: Culture Club reunited to release the album “From Luxury to Heartache,” but the album’s reception was less favorable than their previous works.
  • 1990s: Boy George continued to release solo albums, exploring various musical genres and collaborating with different artists. His singles “The Crying Game” and “Bow Down Mister” achieved moderate success.
  • 2000s: Boy George’s personal life was marked by legal troubles and struggles with addiction. Despite these challenges, he remained active in music and DJing.
  • 2010s: Boy George participated as a coach on the UK version of “The Voice” and continued to tour and perform around the world.
  • 2020: Boy George and Culture Club announced plans for a comeback tour, exciting fans with the prospect of live performances and new music.


  • Sold” (1987)
  • Tense Nervous Headache” (1988)
  • The Martyr Mantras” (1991)
  • Cheapness and Beauty” (1995)
  • The Unrecoupable One Man Bandit” (1995)
  • Essential Mix” (1995)
  • U Can Never B2 Straight” (2002)
  • Ordinary Alien” (2010)


  • Boy George (Lead Vocals)
  • Roy Hay (Guitar, Keyboards)
  • Mikey Craig (Bass Guitar)
  • Jon Moss (Drums, Percussion)

Social Media and Music Platforms

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.