Brittany Howard Information

Brittany Howard is a remarkable singer, songwriter, and guitarist known for her soulful voice, powerful lyrics, and innovative musical style. Born on October 2, 1988, in Athens, Alabama, she rose to prominence as the lead vocalist and guitarist of the band Alabama Shakes before embarking on a successful solo career.

Early Life and Formation of Alabama Shakes: Brittany Howard’s journey in music began in her childhood, when she learned to play the guitar from her older sister. In 2009, she formed the band Alabama Shakes with childhood friends Zac Cockrell, Heath Fogg, and Steve Johnson. The band’s soulful rock sound drew inspiration from genres such as blues, gospel, and R&B.

Rise to Prominence: Alabama Shakes gained attention through their captivating live performances, which showcased Howard’s dynamic vocals and the band’s raw energy. In 2012, they released their debut album, “Boys & Girls,” which featured hit singles like “Hold On” and “You Ain’t Alone.” The album received critical acclaim and earned them multiple Grammy nominations.

Debut Album and Critical Acclaim: The release of “Boys & Girls” catapulted Alabama Shakes into the spotlight, and they quickly became recognized for their soulful and authentic sound. The album’s success earned them a dedicated fanbase and opportunities to perform on renowned stages around the world.

Innovative Solo Career: In 2019, Brittany Howard released her debut solo album, “Jaime,” named after her sister who passed away at a young age. The album showcased Howard’s versatility as an artist, blending elements of soul, rock, funk, and R&B. Tracks like “Stay High” and “History Repeats” received critical acclaim for their distinctive sound and empowering lyrics.

Personal and Introspective Lyrics: Howard’s songwriting often delves into personal experiences, addressing themes such as identity, self-discovery, and social issues. Her music resonates with listeners due to its emotional depth and relatable storytelling. Through her solo work, Howard continues to push musical boundaries while remaining true to her artistic vision.

Advocacy and Activism: Brittany Howard uses her platform to advocate for social justice and equality. Her music addresses important issues, and she has been an outspoken advocate for racial equality and LGBTQ+ rights. Howard’s artistry serves as a means to inspire change and foster conversations about social issues.

Impact and Recognition: Brittany Howard’s unique musical style and powerful vocals have earned her recognition from both peers and critics. Her contributions to the music industry have garnered Grammy Awards, widespread acclaim, and a dedicated fanbase that resonates with her authenticity and artistry.

Collaborative Ventures: In addition to her solo work, Howard has collaborated with various artists from different genres, showcasing her versatility and willingness to explore new creative avenues. Her collaborations highlight her ability to adapt her distinctive voice to a range of musical styles.

Continued Growth and Evolution: As of 2021, Brittany Howard’s career continues to evolve. Her groundbreaking music and impactful messages have left an indelible mark on the music industry, and she remains a trailblazing figure whose influence extends beyond her genre. With every project, Howard’s commitment to authenticity, innovation, and social change shines through.


  • Brittany Howard: Vocals, guitar
  • Zac Cockrell: Bass
  • Heath Fogg: Guitar
  • Steve Johnson: Drums

Discography: With Alabama Shakes:

  • “Boys & Girls” (2012)
  • “Sound & Color” (2015)

Solo Albums:

  • “Jaime” (2019)
  • “Jaime” (The Remixes) (2020)

Social Media Accounts:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.