Bruce Cockburn Information

Bruce Cockburn, a Canadian singer-songwriter and guitarist, has left an indelible mark on the folk and rock music landscape with his thought-provoking lyrics, intricate guitar work, and decades-long career. Born on May 27, 1945, in Ottawa, Canada, Cockburn’s journey from his early days in the folk scene to his emergence as a respected and influential artist is characterized by his musical evolution and unwavering commitment to addressing social and political issues.


  • Early Musical Interest: Bruce Cockburn’s interest in music was sparked at an early age, and he began playing guitar and writing songs in his teenage years. Influenced by folk and country music, he quickly honed his skills and found his voice as a songwriter.
  • Emergence in the Folk Scene: Cockburn’s debut self-titled album was released in 1970, showcasing his folk and acoustic sound. Songs like “Going to the Country” and “Musical Friends” introduced audiences to his poetic lyricism and melodic sensibility.
  • Artistic Evolution: Throughout the 1970s, Cockburn’s music evolved as he delved into rock and explored diverse musical territories. Albums like “Sunwheel Dance” (1972) and “In the Falling Dark” (1976) displayed his ability to experiment with various styles while retaining his signature introspective lyrics.
  • “Wondering Where the Lions Are”: Cockburn achieved commercial success with the release of “Wondering Where the Lions Are” in 1980. The song’s upbeat melody and optimistic lyrics became one of his most recognizable hits, reaching a wider audience.
  • Activism and Political Themes: Cockburn’s music has often been intertwined with his activism and commitment to addressing social and political issues. His songs tackle topics like environmentalism, war, and human rights, reflecting his dedication to using music as a platform for change.
  • “If I Had a Rocket Launcher”: One of Cockburn’s most impactful songs, “If I Had a Rocket Launcher” (1984), expressed his anger and frustration at the violence he witnessed during a trip to Central America. The song’s emotional intensity resonated with audiences and solidified his reputation as a socially conscious artist.
  • Juno Awards and Hall of Fame: Cockburn’s contributions to the Canadian music scene were recognized with multiple Juno Awards, including his induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 2001.
  • Later Career and Recognition: Cockburn’s career continued to flourish through the 1990s and beyond, marked by albums like “Dart to the Heart” (1994) and “Small Source of Comfort” (2011). His intricate guitar playing and evocative lyrics remained constants in his evolving sound.


Bruce Cockburn’s extensive discography spans over five decades, showcasing his musical growth and artistic exploration. Some of his notable albums include:

  1. “Bruce Cockburn” (1970)
  2. “Sunwheel Dance” (1972)
  3. “In the Falling Dark” (1976)
  4. “Dancing in the Dragon’s Jaws” (1979)
  5. “Humans” (1980)
  6. “The Charity of Night” (1996)
  7. “Breakfast in New Orleans, Dinner in Timbuktu” (1999)
  8. “Life Short Call Now” (2006)
  9. “Small Source of Comfort” (2011)
  10. “Crowing Ignites” (2019)

Official Social Media Accounts:

Platform Official Account Link
YouTube Bruce Cockburn YouTube
Spotify Bruce Cockburn Spotify
Twitter Bruce Cockburn Twitter
Instagram Bruce Cockburn Instagram
Facebook Bruce Cockburn Facebook
Website Official Bruce Cockburn Website

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.