Iggy Azalea Information

History and Timeline of Iggy Azalea

Iggy Azalea, born Amethyst Amelia Kelly on June 7, 1990, is an Australian rapper, singer, and songwriter who gained international fame for her unique style and chart-topping hits. Her journey in the music industry is marked by determination, breakthrough moments, and artistic evolution.

Early Life and Move to the United States (1990 – 2006)

  • June 7, 1990: Iggy Azalea is born in Sydney, Australia, as Amethyst Amelia Kelly.
  • Early Exposure to Hip-Hop: Growing up in a neighborhood influenced by hip-hop culture, Iggy developed a passion for the genre from a young age. She cites Tupac Shakur as one of her early inspirations.
  • Move to the United States: At the age of 16, in pursuit of her musical dreams, Iggy Azalea moved to Miami, Florida, USA, to immerse herself in the American hip-hop scene.

Early Career and Mixtapes (2006 – 2011)

  • 2006 – 2010: Iggy Azalea spent her initial years in the United States honing her rap skills and working on her music.
  • YouTube Channel: She created a YouTube channel to showcase her talent and began releasing homemade music videos and freestyles, gradually gaining an online following.
  • Mixtape Releases: In 2011, she independently released her first mixtape, “Ignorant Art,” which garnered attention for its bold and unapologetic style.

Signing with Grand Hustle Records (2012)

  • 2012: Iggy Azalea signed a record deal with Grand Hustle Records, an Atlanta-based label founded by rapper T.I. This marked a significant step forward in her career.

Breakthrough Singles and EP (2013 – 2014)

  • 2013: Iggy released the single “Work,” which became a massive hit and introduced her to mainstream audiences. The song’s success propelled her into the spotlight.
  • Debut EP: She followed up with her debut extended play (EP), “Glory,” which included tracks like “Change Your Life” and “Fancy,” featuring Charli XCX. “Fancy” topped the charts and became one of the biggest songs of the year.

Debut Album “The New Classic” (2014)

  • 2014: Iggy Azalea released her debut studio album, “The New Classic,” which included hit singles like “Black Widow” (featuring Rita Ora) and “Beg for It” (featuring MØ). The album was well-received and showcased her versatility as an artist.

Challenges and Career Evolution (2015 – 2020)

  • 2015: Despite her early success, Iggy faced criticism and controversies. She took a break from the music scene to regroup and focus on personal growth.
  • 2019: Iggy returned with the release of her second studio album, “In My Defense,” which featured tracks like “Sally Walker” and “Started.” The album marked her comeback to the music industry.

Motherhood and Recent Projects (2021 – Present)

  • 2021: Iggy Azalea welcomed her first child, a son named Onyx Carter, which brought a new dimension to her life and career.
  • Recent Releases: Iggy continues to release music and has collaborated with artists like Tyga and BIA. Her dedication to her craft and her evolving style have kept her a prominent figure in the industry.


Here is a list of some of Iggy Azalea’s notable albums and projects:

  1. “The New Classic” (2014)
  2. “In My Defense” (2019)


Iggy Azalea is a solo artist, and her music career has predominantly featured her as the lead performer. While she has collaborated with various artists on specific tracks, she does not have a consistent band or group of members associated with her music.

Official Social Media Accounts

Here are the official social media account links for Iggy Azalea in a column format:

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.