The Animals Information

The Animals, an iconic British rock band, achieved legendary status in the 1960s with their distinctive blend of rhythm and blues, rock, and soul-infused sound. Known for their raw energy, charismatic frontman, and memorable hits, the band left an indelible mark on the music landscape, becoming one of the leading acts of the British Invasion.


  • Formation and Early Years: The Animals emerged from Newcastle upon Tyne, England, in the early 1960s. The core lineup consisted of Eric Burdon (vocals), Hilton Valentine (guitar), Alan Price (keyboards), Chas Chandler (bass), and John Steel (drums). Their name was inspired by their intense stage performances.
  • Rise to Prominence: The Animals gained attention for their energetic live shows and their gritty, bluesy sound. In 1964, their single “House of the Rising Sun” became a massive hit, reaching number one on the charts and propelling them to international fame.
  • Album Debut and Success: The band’s self-titled debut album, “The Animals” (1964), featured their signature mix of R&B covers and original material. Tracks like “I’m Crying” and “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” showcased their versatility and Eric Burdon’s powerful vocals.
  • Tours and US Success: The Animals embarked on successful tours in the United States, where they became an integral part of the British Invasion. Their distinct sound, characterized by Burdon’s distinctive voice and the band’s bluesy arrangements, resonated with American audiences.
  • Evolution of Sound: The band’s subsequent albums, including “Animal Tracks” (1965) and “Animalization” (1966), continued to showcase their dynamic sound. They expanded their musical palette to include elements of rock, soul, and psychedelia.
  • Key Hits: Hits like “We Gotta Get Out of This Place”, “It’s My Life”, and “Don’t Bring Me Down” solidified The Animals’ status as hitmakers. Their ability to blend rock with socially relevant lyrics made them stand out among their peers.
  • Lineup Changes and Disbandment: The band experienced lineup changes over the years, with original members departing and new members joining. By the late 1960s, the band had undergone various transformations, and in 1969, they officially disbanded.
  • Legacy and Influence: The Animals’ impact on rock music is enduring. Their distinctive sound, rooted in blues and R&B, paved the way for the British Invasion’s success and influenced subsequent generations of rock musicians.
  • Eric Burdon’s Solo Career: After the disbandment of The Animals, Eric Burdon pursued a solo career, collaborating with other artists and releasing albums that continued to showcase his powerful vocals and distinctive style.


  • “The Animals” (1964) – Album
  • “Animal Tracks” (1965) – Album
  • “Animalization” (1966) – Album
  • “Winds of Change” (1967) – Album
  • “The Twain Shall Meet” (1968) – Album


  • Eric Burdon (Vocals)
  • Hilton Valentine (Guitar)
  • Alan Price (Keyboards)
  • Chas Chandler (Bass)
  • John Steel (Drums)

Social Media Accounts:

Platform Link
Official YouTube The Animals YouTube
Official Spotify The Animals Spotify
Twitter Twitter
Facebook Facebook

The Animals’ legacy as pioneers of the British Invasion and their timeless hits continue to captivate audiences to this day. Their distinct sound and charismatic performances have secured their place in music history, influencing generations of rock and R&B artists.

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.