The Brand New Heavies Information

The Brand New Heavies are a legendary British acid jazz and funk collective that emerged during the late 1980s. Founded in Ealing, London, the group’s history is marked by their innovative fusion of musical genres and their role in popularizing the acid jazz movement. Comprising a dynamic ensemble of talented musicians, the band’s journey has been defined by their infectious rhythms, soulful melodies, and enduring impact on the music industry.

The band’s inception occurred in 1985, when Jan Kincaid, Simon Bartholomew, and Andrew Levy formed The Brand New Heavies. They were soon joined by N’Dea Davenport, who became the lead vocalist and added a captivating vocal presence to the group’s dynamic. Drawing inspiration from classic funk, soul, and jazz influences, The Brand New Heavies embarked on a mission to revitalize these genres for a contemporary audience.

In 1989, the band released their debut album, “The Brand New Heavies”, which introduced their eclectic sound to the world. Blending funk-driven grooves with soulful vocals, the album featured tracks like “Dream Come True” and “Stay This Way”, capturing the essence of their unique style. Their energetic live performances and undeniable chemistry set the stage for their subsequent successes.

The Brand New Heavies’ second album, “Brother Sister”, released in 1994, marked a significant step forward in their evolution. The album showcased a refined sound and highlighted the synergy between N’Dea Davenport’s vocals and the band’s instrumental prowess. Tracks like “Dream On Dreamer” and the title track “Brother Sister” became anthems of the acid jazz movement, earning them mainstream recognition and acclaim.

The band’s third album, “Shelter”, released in 1997, continued to showcase their ability to experiment and innovate within the acid jazz genre. With tracks like “Sometimes” and “You Are the Universe”, The Brand New Heavies maintained their reputation for crafting music that was both soulful and forward-thinking.

Throughout their history, the band experienced lineup changes while maintaining their commitment to musical excellence. Vocalist Siedah Garrett joined the group for their fifth album, “Shibuya 357: Live in Tokyo”, released in 1999. This live album captured the band’s electrifying stage presence and their ability to engage audiences around the world.


  1. “The Brand New Heavies” (1990)
  2. “Brother Sister” (1994)
  3. “Shelter” (1997)
  4. “Trunk Funk – The Best of The Brand New Heavies” (1999)
  5. “Shibuya 357: Live in Tokyo” (1999)
  6. “We Won’t Stop” (2003)
  7. “Get Used to It” (2006)
  8. “Live in London” (2009)
  9. “Forward” (2013)
  10. “Sweet Freaks” (2014)


  • Jan Kincaid (drums, vocals)
  • Simon Bartholomew (guitar, vocals)
  • Andrew Levy (bass)
  • N’Dea Davenport (vocals)
  • Siedah Garrett (vocals)

Social Media and Music Platforms

Disclaimer : Please note that profile information above needs further research and update. May be subject to change as new information emerges.